jesusOne of my Christmas presents from my parents was a copy of Jesus On Every Page by David Murray, a book I had heard about from a few different places this past year and wanted to read.  Its focus is in “seeking and finding Christ in the Old Testament,” something many churches, pastors, and Christians have been avoiding.

I’ve felt that the Old Testament was being neglected ever since I got my Reformation Study Bible several years back and was fascinated by the prefaces to each book that were titled, “Christ in [book name.”  Adjusting my viewpoint to the one where you read the OT as a witness for Jesus, where Jesus is, indeed, on every page, was quite eye-opening.

I read the first few chapters of this book during devotions today and was encouraged by a couple of verses that Murray points out from John 5:39 and 46:

“You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about me […] If you believed Moses, you would believe me, for he wrote about me.”

The Bible testifies about Jesus.  Moses wrote about Jesus.  This should be of great encouragement to study and understand what that testimony and those words are.  I’m really excited to read the rest of this book.